Drobo

Who powers down drobofs?

I had my fs replaced because of a failed fan. I’ve been thinking of shutting drobofs down when not needed, to try to make this one last.anyone else doing this.

Nope!
It’s been on since i bought it a year and a half ago and still spinning (in a closet so i don’t have to listen to it…)

Same here. Mine has been continuously powered on for over a year. It sits on a shelf right above me and I never noticed any fan noise. I also have a Netgear 16-port Gigabit switch on the same shelf and I hear a little fan noise from it.

Been on for year +

I’m a Drobo FS newbie. Mine just arrived a week ago and it’s been pretty much ON full time since arrival.

THE PLAN would be to have the FS running continuously – backups etc. often scheduled to occur in the very early AM hours so as to not bog down the network when it is in use.

Though, now I am told that the FS is the single Drobo product that does NOT have its own built-in short term power backup and that if I will be away/out of the house I should shut down the unit in case of a power outage.

None of them have power backup… memory backup maybe but that’s just the write cache - it does nothing for data that was “on the way” - not to mention if the computer end doesn’t have a battery backup, then the operation will also fail.

Long story short, any Drobo should be attached to a battery backup (UPS) so it will be powered longer than the attached (network or direct) computers. That way the computers will complete their operations, Drobo will complete its operations and then run idle until power is restored or the battery backup is exhausted.

[quote=“bhiga, post:6, topic:4714”]
……Drobo will complete its operations and then run idle until power is restored or the battery backup is exhausted.[/quote]