Drobo

What happens to the data when i remove a share

Hi,

Just got my Drobo FS about a week ago and so far i pretty impressed with this little unit (apart from the fan noise). I actually had a drive failiure after only two days (was using old lay-away drives) but Drobo didn’t flinch and recovered nicely once i put in a new drive - very nice indeed.

I’ve been doing a lot of reading up on the ins and outs of the device but i can’t seem to find an answer to this question…

Let’s say i have only one share containing all my data. What happens to the data if i remove the share from the “Shares” section under Drobo FS settings?

Thanks in advance for your input.

Best regards
degofedal

If you remove a share, you delete all the data on the share since the share no longer exists.

Hi Jennifer

Thanks so much :slight_smile:

Best regards
Degofedal