Drobo

WD20EADS with firmware: 00R6B0

Hi,

I bought 2 weeks ago a Drobo at the same time with a new HDD Western Didital WD20EADS 00R6B0
Drobo tells me that the HDD failed (after 2 weeks of good service) and to replace it.

I tried the “Failed HDD Wester Digital” on a USB box and it works fine !
I managed to format it , copy files etc.
I put it back in the Drobo and tell me that the drive has a problem !

Could you give me a help here, the drive is fine but Drobo does not want it.

Configuration Mac OS X
Drobo -> 300 GB Seagate
500 GB WD
500 GB WD
2000 GB WD

I’m sure I remember reading the Drobo uses its own system of checking a drive and/or can sense when its in trouble and may be going to die. Maybe the it has discovered something wrong with the drive?

I downloaded the disk utility under windows for the Western HDD. There is nothing wrong with the drive. I spend the day to detect bad cluster and there is none.

Help needed please!

I’m not an expert, but I would presume all the various disk utilities out there work on a similar principle. If the drobo really does have its own way of looking at a hard drive - then maybe everything else would give it a pass and say its ok?
I think Data Robotics tech support opens monday morning so maybe one of their representatives will reply to your post in the week.

UP !

Please, if you got time to see the problem.

If you open a support case, we can get a diagnostic file from that drobo to see what and why that drive is being flagged.

Just a reminder, the Drobo does look for so many errors in a certain time frame. Once that drive makes that criteria drobo marks that drive as failing/failed. It is more sensitive than your computer.

The tools that drive manufacturers use to determine if a drive is bad, should be run several times. I have seen drives pass the first and second run but after that the diagnostic tools from WD, Seagate, Samsung, etc, do finally show the drive as having issues.