Drobo

USB Passthru

Hey devs, I am not a developer but here is an idea for an app that would be really useful:
Original thread

The idea is that my droboshare is really slow over ethernet, but I like the ability to use it as an ftp server. so, as a middle point, it would be cool to plug the droboshare’s second USB port into my computer, mount the droboshare, and then transfer files over USB and ethernet. I’m thinking a lot of people would find this really useful for faster transfers.

Thanks ~Istvan.

If I understand correctly from the previous thread you want to mount the DroboShare via usb because usb is faster than ethernet?

Yes, I did benchmarks of my backups, and the USB is around twice as fast (I have 100 bsae T router between my droboshare and computer. even so, I read that in reality, USB is faster than 1 gigabit ethernet Here)

I don’t know anything about USB and it’s protocol, but using one of these might it be possible?

Ok, I don’t have a DroboShare so in order to work out if the USB port will support the correct mode please paste the result of:

cat /proc/bus/pci/devices

to this thread.

Thanks,

Red

A direct USB 2.0 Drobo connection is faster than the GigE of DroboShare, but of course GigE is pure terms is faster than USB 2.0.

I look forward to seeing noidd’s conclusion.

I just tried that and there is nothing. I also tested vi and the file is empty.

poke

Well, I need to find out what USB chipset is inside.

How about the output of dmesg?

Those cables are essentially the same as having a crossover network cable with a USB LAN adapter on both ends…

The limiting factor in the throughput from DroboShare is the DroboShare’s processor. So, even if DroboShare’s other USB port could be made to be a device and not a host, it’d still require the DroboShare to “pipe” the data from one USB port to the other.