I cannot find a definitive answer to this: if I want a single Mac to back up to a Drobo S using Time Machine, and I don’t want to use the Drobo for anything else, do I need to create a partition to restrict space used by Time Machine.
What I want (and why I bought the Drobo) is for Time Machine to use all the space available, and if in future I add more capacity I want it to use that space too.
All of the opinions and speculation I’ve seen have suggested that you need to partition the drive otherwise Time Machine will ‘overflow’ and that everything needs to be erased and repartitioned when more capacity is added.
Surely there must be a better way? Has anyone actually tried just letting Time Machine fill the drive and see what happens? Does it automatically delete old backups when it runs out of space, as it’s supposed to (I’m taking about having say 2TB of available space on a 16TB volume).