Drobo

Remote Access

Can you access the Drobo FS from a remote location?

Thanks
George

you can install an FTP server via drobo apps, you would then have to set up your router to let you in.

or if you can VPN in and see other computers on your network, you would also be able to browse the drobo.

FTP, SSH, SMB, HTTP, whatever rox ur boat, only thing is, DR is slow with updating FW and Dashboard and does NOT support apps, issues with password resets, unable to map drives, bugs etc etc.
Oxygen is rumored to be available soon but I doubt it.

That’s what I do: OpenVPN to my router then NFS to the DroboFS. I manage even to get iTunes to open my Library stored on the Drobo like that.

First off, I’m definitely a novice here. My goal is to be able to access the flies on my Drobo FS remotely.

I installed the Pure FTBd app on the Drobo successully, but I don’t know what to do next. Do i navigate to Drobo’s IP address via a web browser to gain remote access (and if so, how is that done?)

Thanks anyone in advance for your help. I really appreciate it

i am waiting eagerly for a good reply on the question set above as it is something that interests me as well…

worked it out on my own…works great…

I installed the OxygenCloud Drobo App and setup my own Private “Dropbox” to my DroboFS. I tried the PureFTP but didnt understand the setup

Hi,

Would you mind giving a brief explanation of how you got it to work (the Pure-FTP)? Any leads at all would help.

Thanks, and happy New Year,
CB

I haven’t set up the PureFTPd app, but I imagine the basic steps are:

1. Follow what documentation there is for PureFTPd and make sure you can access it on your local network. Given the somewhat fragile nature of DroboApps (and DRI’s maddening complete lack of support, silence, etc on the topic) I’d follow whatever install instructions are included to the letter.