Drobo

PureFTP Root cant write to disk Nor can be seen outside of the network

Ok, im a drobo NEWB.

I have it all set up… have pureFTP installed… and can ftp to drobo using the ROOT account default WITHIN my network.

I need to see this outside of my network, and when i assign port 1024 to the drobo… i simply can NOT ftp into it.

can someone tell me if this port is not the proper port anymore?

Also… i can only download things… i need to UPLOAD stuff from outside of my network INTO the drobo…

any clues?

You need to use either port forwarding (if using active FTP) or port triggering (if using passive FTP) to ensure the traffic gets between the Drobo and the outside world.

i am port forwarding 192.168.1.112 to port 1024

i read that in one of the very limited documents.

is this correct? if so… its not working.

keep in mind usually FTP protocol uses a UDP + TCP port, 20/21 are defaults for most FTP programs, so if you change it sometimes you gotta forward two specific ports.

What port are you accessing from the outside?

If you’re not accessing port 1024 from the outside world, then you should be port-forwarding port 20 and 21.

Here’s a good explanation of Active vs Passive FTP.
http://slacksite.com/other/ftp.html

Note the lines that represent what ports on the server end are being used. Those are the ports at your router that need to get forwarded to the internal address.

In Active FTP, clients are “hitting” ports 20 and 21 at your router, and those get forwarded to ports 20 and 21 on the actual server (in your case 192.168.1.112:20 and 192.168.1.112:21).

For Passive FTP, the server chooses which port the client should establish its data connection with. Because the port changes, usually you have set up port triggering (and not just forwarding) to have the router open up the incoming data port and route the data to your server properly.