Last week I received my new Drobo S. I bought three new 2 TB Western Digital Caviar Green 5400 RPM (WD20EARS) drives. Before using them I ran WD’s drive diagnostics on each drive to ensure that everything was okay. It was, so I installed the drives the Drobo S. So far so good.
Next I started copying 2.5+ TB of data from other drives to the Drobo S. Everything was working fine, but after a few hours I checked in on progress and discovered a Drobo Dashboard message stating that my data was no longer secure because a drive had been removed. All three drives were still in the Drobo.
When I clicked okay another message notified me that a new drive had been installed. I clicked through the messages and eventually the Drobo rebuilt the redundancy. It’s been a few days now and everything seems fine.
What do you guys make of this? Does this indicate a problem with the Drobo or the drives? I’m a bit worried, of course.