Drobo

Preliminary Network Tests

So I work as a network researchers focused on performance and diagnostics. Having just purchased an FS I decided to build one of the standard tools used to determine network throughput - iperf*. Essentially, on the the server side this creates a packet discard server and on the client side it acts as a traffic generator. My main goal was to determine if there were any network issues that might be impacting drobo fs performance. All tests involve a drobo FS running the latest firmware, a quad core system running windows 7 64bit, and 9KB packet sizes.

The initial tests used a direct connection between the drobo and my home system (a windows 7 box). The first round of tests used the default values for the drobo receive buffer and windows send buffer. The average throughput over multiple runs hovered at around 310Mbps. Not entirely surprising as the default send buffer size for Windows 7 is 8Kb (this can be a problem in some applications). When the buffers size was increased to a reasonable value (around 128KB) the throughput topped out at around 770 Mbps. Running ‘top’ on the drobo revealed that iperf was consuming 100% of the available ‘user’ side core. So I’m going to go out on a limb here and say that the Drobo FS is never going to see full Gb speed but ~800 Mbps isn’t that bad. The problem will come in as you factor in things like the overhead associated with the BeyondRaid parity calculations and the like.

For the next test I hooked up the drobo to my home network through the switch I’m using (which supports 9KB packets and has a 128KB buffer). The iperf results were identical to the direct connection tests. I wanted to make sure that my switch wasn’t imposing a performance hit.