I am having trouble with some software not being able to “see” (browse to) the shares on my Drobo FS. I have cloud-backed data on KeepVault and want to restore some of it to my Drobo, but KeepVault’s software cannot find the Drobo appliance.
The Drobo is running in a network with a Win XP Pro desktop and two Win 7 laptops.
When I set up a share in the Drobo Dashboard it is listed as “Available” with an empty checkbox. If I check that box the shares’ status changes to “Connected” with a drive letter assignation.
Question 1) Is the share now “mapped” in the old sense? Is there a difference between “connecting” and “mapping”?
Question 2) I suspect that it is normal for a “Mapped” drive to have a different drive letter assignation if you “look” at it from different computers on the network – right?