Drobo

Mirroring 2 Drobos

I have 2 Drobos 200 miles apart. I have been using one for a couple of years and has a lot of data on, the other is recently acquired. I intend to temporarily plug these into the same Mac and SuperDuper the data on the old one across to the new one.
My question is whether there is any software that I can then use to keep the 2 Drobos in sync across the internet ?

Check out CrashPlan.com

Just had a look at crashplan.com and I’m not sure it will do what I want as it seems to be designed to backup rather than mirror. I want my 2nd Drobo to look just like the 1st. The fact that you can backup to a friend’s computer would seem to suggest to me that at the very least the target is encrypted, but frankly their website doesn’t really explain what the product actually does.

Crashplan is slow as foo for anything more than a few GB and their client software is…um…“challenging”. I have no idea why people are all “ga ga” for Crashplan.

tdenson…on the Mac you can put together your own script using “rsync” or use something like Transmit 4 to sync the local Drobo to the remote. Transmit is an FTP client that does a whole lot more like syncing directories, remote mounting and so on. You would need to connect to the system where the remote Drobo is plugged into and, of course, that computer needs to be sharing the Drobo so you can see it.

Thanks for that. As it happens I have Transmit installed on my Mac but have never used it. I will investigate. I will also take a look at rsync.

Transmit 4 has quite a few improvements over 3 with sync and a cool remote mounting capability. Not sure that it’s Applescript-able to make it all run transparently but I have used it and rsync to synchronize directories remotely.

I have now played with Transmit 4 and it is awesome. Syncing my two Drobos as we speak. Thanks everyone.

Tony