Drobo

Mac OS 10.6.4

Mac OS 10.6.4 has been released and pushed.
http://www.engadget.com/2010/06/15/mac-os-x-10-6-4-now-available/

As a reminder, DO NOT have your drobo attached to your computer when you do your OS update.

Why not? I don’t disconnect my other USB storage, and I have never disconnected the Drobo through prior OS updates. Is there something in particular here, or is this just paranoia?

Paranoia induced by the fact that data loss has occurred on upgrades before.
I’m not saying Windows or any other OS is any better, just citing fact.

Snow Leopard data loss bug
Leopard USB bug
and I guess sometimes it gets confused, so it’s just good practice

Also helps to avoid user error. :slight_smile:

[quote=“Jennifer, post:1, topic:1503”]As a reminder, DO NOT have your drobo attached to your computer when you do your OS update.
[/quote]

Since when is this a prerequisite?

I’ve performed the upgrade while my two DroboPro were connected, and it went just fine.

I just did it too with my USB Drobo V1 connected (the same way I always have done upgrades like this) and everything was fine. Still waiting for an official reason to disconnect from DRI…

I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s simply a “good practice” thing, especially if they’ve have angry calls from customers who accidentally installed over their Drobo instead of their system drive. I’ve been using computers for over 20 years now and I know I’ve almost done it a few times too.

We have seen OS updates rewrite the partition table on Drobos or cause file system or data corruption. I have already had several cases on that exact issue. We have always recommended to never have the drobo attached during an OS update.

Here is our KB http://support.datarobotics.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/70

Yes, please do disconnect your Drobo device before performing any upgrades on its host computer. An operating system upgrade can cause file corruption and/or data loss. Installing applications such as Boot Camp or Parallels can also present similar risks.

Before performing an OS upgrade (for example, XP to Vista or Windows 7, Tiger to Leopard or Snow Leopard, 10.6.x), please put your Drobo into standby mode or shut down your Drobo S, DroboPro or DroboElite. Then disconnect the data cable (USB, FireWire, eSATA or iSCSI) to prevent any possible file corruption. In Drobo Dashboard, click Advanced Controls -> Tools and then either Standy or Shutdown.