Drobo

iSCSI and the drobo fs

Alright folks, here’s the big event/challenge. How can we get drobo FS to run iSCSI target/initiator software. Anyone up for it? I don’t see why it wouldn’t work. I just don’t think anyone has addressed it. I’m not a programmer otherwise I would be on it already. However, I’m a good collaborator and would be able to do some work(testing/troubleshooting/grunt work) All we need now are a few good programmers. What do you say? I’ve looked around quite extensively and I wasn’t able to find anything on this subject.

The problem you will run into is that ISCSI is a protocol.

The Drobo FS does not use the ISCSI protocol.

The Drobo FS uses TCP/IP.

Thanks for letting me down gracefully:)
but doesn’t ISCSI use TCP/IP? I’m guessing there’s a big fat reason why this can’t be done. Your input is appreciated:)

I do apologize. ISCSI is part of TCP/IP. The Drobo FS does not support this protocol.

I always like when someone tells me that something is not supported. It tickles my hacker bone. :slight_smile:

So I did some digging and it seems that (overly simplifying it) iSCSI is a glorified NFS.

According to this guy, you’ll get some performance improvement over NFS, but nothing to write home about (up to 30% in some cases, but worst on others).

I also found a paper (PDF), that compares iSCSI with NFS and reaches this conclusion (emphasis mine):

I even found a pretty graph that confirms what the paper said. Bottom-line is that NFS and iSCSI are toe-to-toe in the most common scenario.

The good news is that both the iSCSI initiator and the iSCSI target are available for Linux. If you get it cross-compiled, you should be good to go.

The major problem I foresee with this idea is the same that already exists with the NFS server available for the FS (uNFS3): those are userland implementations, not kernel implementations.