Drobo

insomnia DroboApp

So, does anyone have, or would be willing to send me, a properly archived copy of the insomnia DroboApp (i.e. prevents Drobo from going to sleep)? I downloaded the one online, but it comes as a insomnia-r1.gz file, and I’ve read that DroboShare doesn’t properly install files in a .gz format.

This is my first attempt in dealing with a DroboApp, and I must admit that it has been one of the most frustrating things I’ve had to do in a very long time. Just figuring out how to install one was a major PITA, and I still haven’t managed to accomplish it yet.

And if the.gz files don’t work properly, then why allow it to be available in the DroboApps file library?

-Rich

I would do a test for you, however I’m running a droboshare and my drobo is already on 24x7x365 as there’s no way to shut it down via drobo-utils (linux) over the network (only works if i plug in directly via usb) so it’s pretty much always on.

Installing drobo apps is actually quite easy once you understand what you must do.

First, need to use DroboDashboard to turn on the droboapps.

Second, browse into the DroboApps folder in your drobo and drag and drop the drobo apps utility into the folder and restart your droboshare. This will install the drobo admin utility.

Third, open a browser and point it to the IP address of your drobo followed by port 8080 so for example typing, 192.168.1.142:8080 will take you to the web based drobo admin page, from here you can install a variety of drobo apps.

Fourth, make sure you install the SSH app so you can have direct SSH access to your drobo using an SSH client.

Fifth, for apps that can’t be installed via the admin utility, you just drag and drop the tar.gz file into the DroboApps directory and restart droboshare via the admin page.

Once you drag and drop the insomnia app, it should show up in the web based admin utility under Configure Droboapps, note that some may not be configurable from here.

hope this helps.