Drobo

Hide a Folder

I can’t seem to figure out how to hide a folder for my Drobo FS that I am connecting to through my Windows 7 64 bit machine.
There is one folder that shows up that my syncing software creates that I don’t want to see on the network drive. When I right click and select hidden attribute, it does not stay. Any ideas?
Sorry, I am new to this NAS life.

Thanks,
Toby

Hey Dynatnt1,

Which syncing software are you using? Is possible that the software is removing the hidden attribute when it runs? Is the hidden attribute removed after time, or it does not go hidden ever?

Any additional details about your specific setup would be helpful.

FlyBoyOz,
I am using a program called GoodSync. The problem is, when I click on the properties panel for the folder in Windows and click hidden, after I click okay and close the box, if I go back in, the hidden box is unchecked.
Doesn’t seem to stick.
Hope this helps.

Thanks,
Toby

The hidden file attribute is not being saved because you are using a linux based NAS and connecting using Samba. Because of how the drobo configures samba by default, the hidden attribute is not supported (ie, not saved) so when you look at the file properties again the hidden attribute shows as unchecked. Samba needs to be configured to treat hidden files correctly, you can look at this for all the details: http://www.samba.org/samba/docs/using_samba/ch08.html

Before you think you can easily enable this, it’s not something easy to just turn on for the Drobo FS and here is why:

• the settings are in /mnt/DroboFS/System/samba/conf which is a regenerated file so any changes you make WILL be lost at some point
  • the drobo configures files with a default mode of 0777 and since samba uses the execute bits to store file attributes, essentially the drobo is configured to default every file as potentially a “hidden+system+readonly” file (if you enabled these in samba), so you would need to change the default mode as well