Drobo

help with droboapps...

Hello,

So I just got my Drobo FS yesterday, was quite excited, got the drives in it and set it up and got some shares going, all good to that point.

Then I started trying to get apps working, not so excited anymore.

I cannot get any apps to work whatsoever. I am using the correct FS versions. I installed apache and the droboadmin app, but I have no way of knowing if these are running, how to configure them, or anything. Going to the http://ip-of-drobofs:8080/droboadmin/ page does not connect (yes I put my drobo’s IP in there).

There needs to be a guide on here for all the rest of us who are not programmers to get these things working. I am an engineer and I’m having difficulty here, this is not good.

Thanks for your help

Hey zerofivenataku,

At which stage of this process was it not successful?

1. In the drobodashboard you tickied the “Support DroboApps” checkbox.
  2. You see a new “DroboApps” share appear.
  3. You mount the DroboApps share on your host machine.
  4. You take your (for example apache) .zip file, uncompress it and find the apache.tgz file.
  5. Copy the apache.tgz file into the root of the DroboApps share.
  6. You shutdown and restart your DroboFS.
  7. Remount your DroboApps share.

Do you see either an apache directory or your apache.tgz file there?

Thanks,

Red

All of those steps have completed successfully. I have the apache directory in my droboapps mount, as well as the droboadmin. I go to the address the droboadmin readme said to go to after I install both, and it cannot connect.

Is some config required of apache? There was no setup information given with either of these really, or any app I have seen for that matter.

Try just going to http://ip-of-drobofs:8080

You should see something at that URL if you have Apache installed successfully.