Drobo

Help setting up MiniDLNA

Help setting up MiniDLNA

Hi all,

This is my first time with DroboFS and DroboApps and I need some help setting up MiniDLNA.
I have installed the 1.0.2.4 version and it is seen by my DLNA devices, BUT it only shows some default directories/maps that are all empty.

From minidlna.conf: MiniDLNA Default: media_dir=/mnt/DroboFS/Shares/Public

My setttings I tested with:

1. media_dir=/mnt/DroboFS/Shares/DroboFSshare/Media
  2. media_dir=/mnt/Drobo-FS/Shares/DroboFSshare/Media
  3. media_dir=/mnt/Drobo-FS/DroboFSshare/Media
    4.media_dir=/mnt/Drobo-FS/Shares/Public/DroboFSshare/Media

restarted the Drobo every time but no go :frowning:
I also found out that all my maps and files have new dates on them after the last tryout, like 2022 or 2024 as year???

I know the minidlna.conf file is read and used as I changed the “friendly_name=” every time as well just to be sure.

Please help, what am I doing wrong?

Regards
/Cekari

Are you comfortable using a command line under linux? If so, you can SSH into the DroboFS, and then ask minidlna to do a forced refresh of the file database.

A simpler option is just to go in the DroboApps share, and delete the contents of the minidlna/var/cache/minidlna* folder(s), then restart the drobo. This will delete the current file database, and force a refresh on startup.

Keep in mind that it may take a while for something to appear on clients, since the FS does not have a particularly fast CPU.

Hi,

No I’m not used to SSH at all :slight_smile:

I believe the problem is what to write in this setting: media_dir=?
so doing a rebuild before this is set properly will not help?
As you see in my first post I have tried all 4 and have no idea how the line should read. thats why I submitted images of what my system looks like and how it’s named :slight_smile:

Ah, ok, as soon as I know how the “media_dir=” should look like there is no problen deleting those files in “minidlna/var/cache/minidlna* folder(s)”