Drobo

Gracefully preparing for drive capacity upgrade

When expanding the total capacity by replacing a drive with a larger one (after all bays are filled) it creates a period of unprotected data - since the removal creates a single drive failure situation.

Could the dashboard add an admin feature that instructs the system to shift all protection to empty one of the drives. This would allow the data to remain protected, since the drive hasn’t failed. Once the drive has been emptied from use, removing it will not be disruptive. Once the new drive is inserted, the storage can expand onto it, again while keeping the protection aspects intact.

Yes, I recognize that changing protection to be dual disk protection would allow protection to remain while removing one to increase capacity. However, the process will still result in alarms and once done will require the step of setting back to single protection unless dual protection is the desired configuration.