Drobo

drobo or drobo fs

I am new to drobo and very interested in the ease and getting away from the RAID restrictions. I have a few questions that may be a bit complex.

I will have a Windows Home Server (2011 when it releases) hosting data, only for my MediaCenter to share media to 2-4 xbox’s using the MediaCenter Extender.
I also have 3 Mac’s that I want to use drobo for Time Machine to back up.
Obviously I will be using a lot of bandwidth that I am already setup for. I am looking for a decent redundant solution like drobo that will fullfill my needs.
My questions are, which drobo is best? Some research has shown low throughput on the drobo fs. Is this true? People are claiming ~20Mb and complaining it is too low. I am looking for multiple streams, so that would be too low.
I will have some video at 1080p, will that take too much bandwidth to backup or stream more than 1 device?

I hope to find answers and thank all help. :slight_smile:

I recmommend the hi-end 8-bay DroboPro/DroboElite or the latest B800i (iSCSI) or B800fs (NAS) model.

Sorry, I forgot to mention, cost is a factor, $1000 is absolute high end. wife would love way less.

Then go for the DroboFS. The 4-bay USB2.0 or FW800 is relatively slow!

That’s what I was leaning towards. I’m curious about the data speeds. If anyone with the droboFS could let me know their experiences.

hi im curious about your xbos setup too :slight_smile:
ive got an xbox, and an xbox360 … does the media server do transcoding on the fly to play stuff on the xboxes?

Don’t expect the drobo to do any transcoding. It’s a slow cpu beast. However I have UPNP working just fine on it playing stuff off Xbox and PS3.