Drobo 5C - Not showing up in Dashboard, HD blinking Orange/Green

Hello there,

seems I am not alone with my problems regarding the Drobo 5C and I was wondering if you guys could help me, in comparison to the support, that does not reply and care at all it seems.

Here’s the issue:

I have been using Drobo 5C for 5 years now to back up all my studio recordings from my clients here at my recording studio. So it got used only 1-2 times a month for archiving/backup, since I have an internal project drive aswell. Silly me, for thinking their proprietary Raid system is reliable and failsafe. Now after years without problems and (perhaps) after switching to an M1 Mac with OS 12.5.1 it started to get fishy.

• First the Drobo 5C started disconnecting while transferring big projects of 10-150GB. It just dismounted and I was not able to transfer big projects anymore.
  • Then I actually could not get it to show up in the Drobo dashboard anymore, just for a short time, so I tried around with different Macs here and ports available with no success.
  • By that time I discovered that the lights were blinking green/orange, but since it was not appearing in the Dashboard did not know, that this is the Data Protection mode and I made the mistake to power it down several times.
  • Then I powered it down, emptied the slots and powered it up. The upper bay appeared red and the Drobo still was not showing up in dashboard. Powered down again and re-inserted the drives in the bays in the exact order.
  • Now I have it connected to a USB-C port directly at the rear of the Mac mini and it is showing green/orange blinking lights but is not showing up in the dashboard so I cannot tell is it in data protection mode or not.

Anyhow I am planning to let it run now for 1-2 days to see if this is going somewhere.