Hi there, just got my Drobo FS and am pretty psyched about it. On paper is seems awesome.
So I loaded on 2x1.5TB drives and created a share named “Media”. I proceeded to transfer my entire iTunes library, about 500GB to this share. No problem.
Now I decided my share really should be named “Media Backup” because thats how iTunes looks for it. I go to rename the share in Drobo Dashboard, and it gives me an error about having a space in the share name. OK, no problem. So I change it back to “Media” and save.
Imagine my horror as I no longer am able to mount the Media share as the Drobo goes crazy (I can hear the drives whizzing), and the free space reported in the Dashboard starts to go up and up as if my data is being erased.
Sure enough, it gets to about 385MB used space and I can now mount the share again, but it’s empty.
Whoa. Thankfully I still have the original files on my other disk, but wow, this is a seriously nasty problem. Did I do something wrong? Doesn’t seem like it. Would me data be lost if I didn’t have it elsewhere? Probably.
Seems like there would be a more efficient way to rename a share, eh? Or at least warn someone the data will be lost?
Maybe this is because I “renamed” the share to it’s original name? An edge case I agree, but hey, it happened.