Drobo

Can you lend a "dummy" a hand? Noob here.

I’ve been trying to avoid posting here as most of you are well beyond my stage of implementation and I don’t want to be a pita. Unfortunately I’ve not found enough consistent advice for my specific question(s). I’d appreciate anyone taking the time to explain to a “dummy” just how to get started with my Drobo.

Here is what I have;

iMac wired directly to an Airport Extreme BS (4 users)
2 Powerbooks connected wirelessly to AEBS
2 Airport Express communicating with AEBS
Western Digital external drive storing all my music as well as backup of iMac
Misc external drives holding jpegs
Drobo with 4 drives (2TB each)

Here are my hopes;
Perform regular automatic backups of my iMac and Powerbooks to Drobo
Keep all photos, movies and music on WD drive to stream from but backup to Drobo
Keep my hair doing so

So who’s got the time to direct me to easy to follow advice or willing to provide it themselves?

Is your iMac on 24/7?

I have a similar setup but without the Apple Extreme. I have a Drobo connected via FW800 directly to my Mac as well as an external WD Essentials 2TB connected via USB. I store all my media on the external WD drive and use Time Machine to backup both my internal hard drive and the external WD drive to the Drobo. Works perfectly. However, if you plan on attaching the drives to the Apple Extreme then i can’t comment on how that would work as i don’t have that setup to try.

Yes it’s on 24/7.

You say “Powerbooks”. Do you mean that, or do you really mean “MacBooks”?

Are you running Leopard or later on everything?

No I mean PowerBooks. My wife and I each have one. I’ll retire the oldest one soon and get a new one. The newer one is running 10.5.8. The oldest one won’t run Leopard. So actually in a month I’ll have a MacBook and a PowerBook.