You can remove drives from Drobo and safely store them to archive them to be read back by Drobo at a later time. All you have to do is remove the disks out as a pack - this means if you have three drives in Drobo, you should remove and archive all three. If one of those three were to fail while in storage, your data would still be safe. You can only remove one drive and archive it if you started with just two. However, we do not recommend this as it is an inefficient use of disk capacity and removes the redundancy of the second disk.