Just a small clarification…
If you put the shares into login items then they are connected when you log in, and not at reboot.
If you logged in as a different user you would not see the shares. They wouldn’t be accessible to any scripts or automated backup schemes until the user with the login items logs in. If you never logged in they would not show up at all.
You may have your computer set up to automatically log you in at reboot time, in which case you may not see the difference, and may not care, but technically they are not mounting at reboot.
If it’s working for you as-is that’s great, I just wanted to be sure that what you are actually doing is clear to all.