Drobo

Actual capacity remaining

I have a Drobo that contained 2TB of disks when I started, and so I created a 2TB volume. I then moved to Windows 7 32bit and added more disks and now I’m confused as to how much space I actually have.

Half the blue lights on the front are lit up. Windows reports an M drive of 2TB and an N drive of 2TB, but when I use the Drobo dashboard reports 1.75TB of space with 938 GB free.

How much space have I actually got, and can I hook up both volumes to create one large volume ? I guess I’m not technical enough to understand the difference between a volume and actual space left.

dashboard is always correct.

the volume is just how big it tells windows that it is - its in no way related to your actual free space

the reason it is done like this is that you could create one huge volume (16TB) but only have one or two 1TB drive in drobo - when you upgrade the drives, you wouldnt need to make any new volumes or reformat

Thanks - so I have 938 GB free ? Only dashboard only reports the M drive at present not the N drive as well.

think of it as your volume is your garage…

the disks you put in drobo are your cars.

the actual data you can store is what goes in the trucks of your cars

if you make your garage (volume) huge to begin with - even if you only have a couple of small cars (so you cant put very much in their boots) then in the future when you get more or bigger cars they will still fit in your garage.

since your first volume (garage ) was small… now that you have bought additional drives (cars) you have had to build a second garage (volume) next to the first garage (volume)

you are still limited by what you can put in the trunks of the cars, it is in no way related to your volumes.[hr]
yes, if dashboard has 938GB free - then you can put another 900gb of data onto drobo. you could add that on to EITHER of your volumes tho.