Before I reformat my 5N to take advantage of 64TB, I want to make sure I do not lose my configuration of shares and users. I have 5 shares DroboApps, public, a Mac Time Capsule, and two file server backups. These all have different users and permissions.
I have a new Drobo5N that I am moving my data to and setting up CrashPlan to back up between the two 5N’s, but I do not want to lose share or security data. I am planning on creating a single share on the new 5N named “Old5N backup” and pushing these 5 shared folders into it.
Is there a way to and/or a need to backup the 5n share and security configuration data? Where is this kept?(Is it in DroboApps/apache?)
Is it safe to overwrite DroboApps/apache after I convert to 64TB, or is there configuration data specific to the 64TB upgrade that will be overwritten?
What is the best practice for backing up this information before I erase and reformat the old 5N for use as a 64TB device?